WABL Championship Men and Women 2023 Grand Finals wrap

WABL Championship Men and Women 2023 Grand Finals wrap

A successful Grand Final Day at Bendat Basketball Centre for our WABL Championship Men’s and Women’s divisions concluded with two worthy champions being crowned for the 2023 season.

In the Women’s grand final, the minor premiers Cockburn Cougars took on the Perry Lakes Hawks, with the point guard match-up of Kinley Patterson (Cougars) and Millie McCarthy (Hawks) not disappointing. McCarthy scored a team-high 14 points while Patterson had 12 points. For the Hawks, forward Beige Harris had 13 points while Danika Pisconeri showed heart and hustle to finish with nine points. For the Cougars, forward combo Ella Summers and Harriet Ford had 18 points and 12 points respectively. The first half saw the Cougars take a 10-point lead early in the second quarter before a fightback from the Hawks saw them lead 41–33 at half time. A tight third quarter ensued before the Cougars tied the game late in the fourth quarter, only for the Hawks to re-take the lead and finish with a championship victory of 71–66. Pisconeri was named Grand Final MVP.

In the Men’s grand final, the Perth Redbacks took on the Willetton Tigers. The Redbacks had an early lead at quarter time before the Tigers’ trio of Thomas Gerovich (23 points), Aiden Fitzgerald (22 points) and Josh Ibukunoluwa (21 points) took control of the game with a 28–12 second quarter. The Redbacks brought the game back slightly in the fourth quarter behind Lachlan Bertram, who had a game-high 24 points, but it was too little too late as the Tigers ran out comfortable winners 97–82 to claim the championship. Gerovich was named Grand Final MVP.

Grand Finals wrap

PERRY LAKES HAWKS 71 vs Cockburn Cougars 66 Click here for box score
Grand Final MVP: Danika Pisconeri (Hawks)
Referees: Tong Tong and Lauren Alexander

WILLETTON TIGERS 97 vs Perth Redbacks 82 Click here for box score
Grand Final MVP: Thomas Gerovich (Cougars)
Referees: Kyle Gammidge and Asher Cowie

Click here for the historical list of Champions for Div1/D-League

Related News