The Competition

‘The Western Australian Basketball League aims to provide a state-wide premier junior competition which develops players, coaches and officials. The League seeks to meet the high level competition requirements through accessible education and training, while promoting positive mental, physical and emptional outcomes’

– WABL February 2017

The Western Australian Basketball League (WABL) is WA’s premier junior basketball competition catering for players in the following age groups: U12, U14, U16, U18, U20 and Open Age (D-League)

In 2014, the WABL introduced the 5 Year Plan, which sees divisions graded depending on ability. This process has been progressively phased in year to year and in 2020, U12, U14, U16s and U18s will all be graded at the WABL Grading Tournament (last weekend of February and first three weekends of March)

Graded: Games are played on Sundays over a 18 week home and away season where every team plays each other twice, plus three weeks of finals.

The season generally commences in the last weekend of April with finals finishing at the end of September.

The WABL is currently comprised of 13 Basketball Associations from both the metropolitan and country regions extending from Joondalup to Southwest (Bunbury).