2017 WABL Grand Final Wrap

2017 WABL Grand Final Wrap

The 2017 Western Australian Basketball League Grand Finals were held September 17 at the Bendat Basketball Centre. A total of 25 Grand Finals were played across 5 age groups, with an incredible display of high quality basketball throughout all divisions. Congratulations to all players, coaches and referees who represented their clubs on Grand Final day, and for all the hard work and effort you have shown throughout 2017.


The Champions:

“The Willetton Tigers were awarded the Gillam Trophy in 2017 for overall excellence in the WABL competition”

Willetton Tigers14 Finals, 10 Champions (12CHM, 12CHW, 12-3W, 14CHW, 14-2M, 14-3M, 14-3W, 16CHM, 16CHW, 18-1M)

Lakeside Lightning6 Finals, 3 Champions (12-2M, 14-2W, 14-4M)

Perth Redbacks5 Finals, 4 Champions (12-2W, 12-3M, 16-2W, 16-4M)

Perry Lakes Hawks5 Finals, 2 Champions (12-4M, 18W)

Mandurah Magic5 Finals, 2 Champions (16-3M, 20M)

Rockingham Flames 3 Finals, 1 Champion (14CHM)

Joondalup Wolves3 Finals, 1 Champion (16-3W)

East Perth Eagles3 Finals, 1 Champion (16-2M)

Cockburn Cougars – 2 Finals, 1 Champion (18-2M)

Stirling Senators2 Finals

Southwest Slammers2 Finals

Kalamunda Eastern SunsNo Finals


The Numbers:

10.4 – Average winning margin at the 2017 WABL Grand Finals.

80 – Highest percentage of Finals won in 2017, accomplished by the Perth Redbacks.

9 – Number of games decided by 4 points or less.

2 – Closest margin of victory, in a come from behind 79-77 win by the Tigers over the Flames (16CHW)

2 – Overtime periods required to decide a Champion in the 18W Grand Final


The MVP’s:

Most Valuable Players are voted on in Championship Divisions by referees and coaches throughout the year. Congratulations to the following players on their personal successes:

U12 Championship Boys – Trey Sandon (Joondalup Wolves)

U12 Championship Girls – Josie Allen (East Perth Eagles)

U14 Championship Boys – Kallum Penn (Rockingham Flames)

U14 Championship Girls – Hayley Holland (Perry Lakes Hawks)

U16 Championship Men – Liam Patterson (Lakeside Lightning)

U16 Championship Women – Maddison Alone (Kalamunda Eastern Suns)

U18 Men – Luke Travers (Rockingham Flames)

U18-2 Men – Zachary Watkinson (Cockburn Cougars)

U18 Women – Neseya Williams (Perth Redbacks)

U20 Men – Lachlan Kleppe (Willetton Tigers)


Related News